My Little Monster’s 3rd Birthday

My first baby girl adores monsters. At the age of two we let her watch Monsters Inc. Now, I know that to some of you that immediately puts us in the category of bad parents but you don’t know our Little Duck. So deciding the theme for her 3rd birthday was easy. I didn’t want to just do Monsters Inc. Both because it would have been impossible to find the decorations but also because Little Duck asked for a pink party with monsters. As always I hit up Pinterest and found everything I needed and more. I’ll go through each picture of the party we threw but here is a link to my board. http://pinterest.com/bittyboptoppers/little-monster-birthday-party/

The hardest part about planning this birthday party was realizing I didn’t have the time or the funds to do everything. So many wonderful ideas, so little time/space/money/skills….you get the idea. So I started with something I knew I could do. The birthday girl’s hat. I searched tsy for the perfect pattern and found one on RAKJ patterns. I love the bobbles and I could immediately picture it in pink. Plus it uses cotton yarn which I absolutely adore working with (this may make me a leper in the crochet community, but I don’t care! I love how clean, crisp and bright it can look). You should be able to get to her Etsy shop by clicking on the picture..

Jovie's 3rd Birthday 065Little Duck modeling her birthday hat. This actually a fantastic picture of her. Like her father, she seldom poses for real.

For decorations I kept with a pink and green theme. I covered the playroom floor with plastic table clothes and taped them down to the carpet. We had a water play table and allowed the kids to eat in there so this made for SUPER easy clean up later. I stole borrowed some white roll paper from my work and taped it to the wall. I then drew random monsters for the kids to colour in later. What kid wouldn’t love being given permission to draw on the wall! my deepest apologies to the parents whose children attended if this created confusion when the children returned home. My husband works at a small college so I guilted had two college students generously volunteer to come do games with the kids while I was getting food ready for everyone. They played simple easy games like Monster Says.

This part was so much Fun!

This part was so much Fun!

The playroom decorations

The playroom decorations

My favourite part about executing this party was the food. The kids and adults both loved it. From the Monster punch drank out of cups with googly eyes (Green Monster Margaritas for mommies and daddies) to the fingers and toes, everything was tasty and fun to eat. My personal favourite were the Monster eyeballs-especially the cookie dough ball ones!

Food break down: Monster Punch-Orange pop/vanilla icecream float in a punch bowl; Monster fingers-mini corndogs; Monster Toes-chicken nuggets; Monster Eyes- Chocolate chip cookie dough balls, m&m kisses pretzels, two bite brownies with pink icing; Fruit bowl-watermelon cut out with teeth, orange halves and grapes for eyes.

Jovie's 3rd Birthday 006                  Jovie's 3rd Birthday 035

                  

For party favours I crocheted each guest their own little monster and then included some monster eyes, stickers etc. For the photo op we made a little booth with a monster picture and a hole making it look like the kids were in the monster’s mouth. This was not exactly how I had wanted it to turn out. I unfortunately threw it together last minute and it turned out smaller than I wanted it to be. But the kids still had fun so that’s really what matters!

Roar!

Roar!

I had fun making each of these little guys for the guests to take home.

I had fun making each of these little guys for the guests to take home.

Little Duck talked about this party for months! She had so much fun and it was a proud mommy moment when she thanked me making her feel like “the best girl in the whole city!” As much as she loved all the elements of the party, the most memorable was the cake. I wish I could take credit for it but my hubby’s co-worker made it. She did an amazing job and I’m glad I chose to buy one instead of tackling it myself. It will definitely be hard to top this cake!

What do you think 3 year olds wish for on their birthday?

What do you think 3 year olds wish for on their birthday?

Amazing job by hubby's co-worker, Ellen
Amazing job by hubby’s co-worker, Ellen

Leave a comment